Time and Talent Award

glicksman elliot

Elliot B. Glicksman (’69) joined the faculty of Thomas M. Cooley Law School in May of 1975. Previously, he was in private practice with a Detroit labor firm, served as a staff attorney for UNISYS, and was an assistant prosecuting attorney for Wayne County.   He has lectured extensively to federal and state judges in the field of evidence and administrative law.  His published articles include “Annual Surveys on Evidence Law in Michigan,” which appeared in the Wayne Law Review.  His other publications have appeared in The Anglo-American Law Review; State Bar of Michigan Journal; The Idaho State Bar Journal; Nebraska Law Review; the University of South Carolina Law Review; and the Public Law Journal, State Bar of California.  He has taught Evidence, Constitutional Law, Professional Responsibility, and Evidence Law Seminars.

During the academic year of 1984-85, Elliot held a Senior Research Fellow appointment at the Faculty of Law, University of Birmingham, Birmingham, England.  He has been an adjunct faculty member at the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law.  He has been on the faculty of the National Judicial College, University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada, since 1986.  In 1997, he received Eastern Michigan University’s Distinguished Alumnus Award.  He has his B.A. from Eastern Michigan University (’64), his M.A. from Wayne State University (’66), and his J.D. from U of D. (’69). 

Elliot served on the Board of Directors of the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law Alumni Association from 1999 to 2011 as an out-state member residing in the Lansing area.  He regularly attended Board meetings in Detroit and served the School’s alumni with honor and distinction.

Time and Talent Award Criteria

The Time and Talent Award was established by the Board of Directors of the Law Alumni Association in 2002 to honor alumni who have given their time and talent through their distinguished leadership and dedicated service to the School of Law and its Alumni Association.  Each recipient has a record of longstanding service (six years or more) on the Alumni Board or has served the School of Law for many years in other capacities.

Time and Talent Award Recipients:

  • Jane Sullivan Colombo (’79) – 2010
  • Michael G. Costello (’85) – 2012
  • Michael L. Donahue (’65) – 2004
  • John W. Fitzer (’50) – 2002
  • Patricia Rossi Galvin (’70) – 2005
  • Gregory J. Gamalski (’83) – 2006
  • Elliot B. Glicksman ('69) – 2013
  • Hon. Barbara K. Hackett (’50) – 2002
  • Patrick E. Hackett (’50) – 2002
  • Patrick J. Keating (’53) – 2002
  • Stephen M. Kelley (’81) – 2007
  • Richard L. Lehman (’60) – 2004
  • John B. Lizza (’53) – 2003
  • Robert H. Martin (’66) – 2002
  • Neil A. McQuarrie (’72) – 2005
  • Robert P. Milia (’69) – 2006
  • Michael V. Morgan (’72) – 2008-2009
  • Hon. Roland L. Olzark (’54) – 2003
  • Hon. Maureen Pulte Reilly (’58) – 2004
  • Mary Catherine Rentz (’81) – 2007
  • Hon. James P. Sheehy (’69) – 2005
  • Gerald C. Simon (’52) – 2003
  • Dean P. Valente (’84) – 2011